Adjudication criteria

The jury shall adjudicate on the basis of the following principal criteria:

Architectural and technical aspects:

  • Integration in the urban environment or into the landscape
  • Design concept and its quality
  • Imagination and innovation, technical features

Sustainability aspects

  • Legacy concept
  • Ecological sustainability (significant innovations, environmental design)
  • Economical sustainability (operational/management concept)
  • Social/community aspects (socially meaningful legacy for all members of a community)
  • Support of health and well-being

Accessibility aspects

  • Accessibility and universal design / inclusive features for the widest possible range of users


In its adjudication, the jury will take the differing economic and social conditions at the various locations into consideration.