IOC/IPC/IAKS Architecture Prizes

The IOC/IAKS Award and the IPC/IAKS Distinction are the most important international architecture prizes for sports, leisure and recreational facilities.

Every two years since 1987, the IOC/IAKS Award is commending sports and leisure facilities of exemplary design and function.

Together with the International Paralympic Committee, the IAKS is also awarding the IPC/IAKS Distinction for sports and leisure facilities suitable for persons with a disability.

In addition, IOC, the IPC and the IAKS are giving the Architecture and Design Award for Students and Young Professionals on innovative designs and concepts for sports, leisure and recreational facilities.


18.November 2015 | Awards

IOC, IPC and IAKS award 2015 prize-giving ceremony on Oct 27, 2015

Smiling faces among this year's winners! At the festive gala on 27 October 2015, the IOC, the IPC and the IAKS present the much-coveted medals for exemplary architecture.


04.November 2015 | Awards

IAKS All-Time Award pays tribute to outstanding sports facilities

The IAKS All-Time Award commends outstanding sports facilities of the last few decades not only for their architectural and operative excellence, but also because of the special importance attached to sustainability and social factors.


22.September 2015 | Awards

IOC/IPC/IAKS Award 2015 infotrailer

Exceptional architectural design, strong functional planning, sustainability and legacy – the IOC/IPC/IAKS architectural prizes award the world's best sports and leisure facilities.

24.July 2015 | Awards

The world's best sports and leisure facilities

"Sports architecture and sports facilities are very important for the development of sports and for major competition events.” stated Dr. C.K. Wu, Member of the IOC Executive Board.


08.April 2015 | Awards

High Interest in the IOC/IPC/IAKS Architecture Prizes 2015

The excitedly awaited entries for the 2015 IOC/IAKS Award and IPC/IAKS Distinction arrived shortly before Easter and hence on time at the IAKS Office.