IAKS General Assembly elects new Executive Board

President Dr Stefan Kannewischer welcomed over 90 members to the IAKS General Assembly on 8 November 2017. He reported on the activities of the Executive Board and the IAKS Office over the last two years, which included participation in several international congresses in Poland and Spain and the founding of the new IAKS Nordic. At FSB 2017, an attractive accompanying programme with renowned experts and forward-looking topics had been organised, including the IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes, the IAKS Congress and the International Swimming Pool and Wellness Forum.

An important outcome of the work of the Executive Board was the preparation of the “Future Trends 2020” in which global trends for the future of sports and leisure facilities are presented.

Treasurer Dr Markus Fischer reported on gratifying growth in membership, particularly in Poland, Germany and the Nordic countries.

In addition to amending the Rules, the General Assembly voted to increase membership subscriptions from 1 January 2018.

Three long-standing Executive Board members – Prof. Dr Carlos Vera Guardia, Dr Pino Zoppini and Horst Huber – retired from their duties on the board.


The General Assembly then elected the new Executive Board for the coming four years, with the following line-up:

  • President:                Dr Stefan Kannewischer, Switzerland
  • Vice President:        Prof. Dr Takazumi Fukuoka, Japan
  • Vice President:        Conrad Boychuk, Canada
  • Treasurer:                Dr Markus Fischer, Germany
  • Board member:       Karin Schwarz-Viechtbauer, Austria
  • Board member:       Wolfgang Becker, Austria
  • Board member:       Haymo Huber, Austria
  • Board member:       Tom Jones, United Kingdom

The international Executive Board also includes representatives of the eight IAKS sections. Profiles of the new board members will appear in subsequent newsletters.

For their services to the development of sports and leisure facilities, the following IAKS members were appointed honorary members: Rudolf Behacker, Horst Delp, Dr Johannes Eulering, Horst Huber, Andreas Klages, Andrzej Krasnicki, Hartmuth Meyer-Buck and Dieter Sanden.

Picture Gallery